IELTS is the International English Language Testing System which tests English proficiency across the globe. IELTS tests are held in over 500 centres with tests up to four times a month. IELTS respects international diversity and is fair to anyone who sits the test, regardless of nationality. IELTS is jointly owned by three reputable, international organisations: British Council, IDP: IELTS Australia and the University of Cambridge ESOL Examinations (Cambridge ESOL).

IELTS test
There are two types of IELTS test: Academic or General Training, depending on whether you want to study, work or migrate. Both modules are made up of four parts – Listening, Reading, Writing and Speaking.
Listening, Reading and Writing must be completed in one day. Depending on your test centre, the Speaking test may be offered on the same day or up to two days before or after the other parts.
IELTS motivates test-takers to develop real and well-rounded English rather than learning by rote. This means your understanding of English is improved and valid for real life in an English-speaking country.

IELTS test Grades
The test covers the full range of ability from non-user to expert user. IELTS results are graded on the unique IELTS 9-band scale. Each band corresponds to a level of English competence. All parts of the test and the Overall Band Score can be reported in whole and half bands, eg 6.5, 7.0, 7.5, 8.0.
You are not limited in how many times you can sit the test. The IELTS scoring system is recognised globally, giving you a truly international result.

IELTS is available in two test formats:
Academic – Institutions of Higher and Further Education
The Academic format is, broadly speaking, for those who want to study or train in an English-speaking university or Institutions of Higher and Further Education. Admission to undergraduate and postgraduate courses is based on the results of the Academic test.

General – for school, work or migration
The General Training format focuses on basic survival skills in broad social and workplace contexts. It is typically for those who are going to English-speaking countries to do secondary education, work experience or training programs. People migrating to Australia, Canada and New Zealand must sit the General Training test.
It should be noted that certain professions require an Academic test result for registration and migration purposes.

Getting Results
Your Test Report Form will be posted to you 13 calendar days after the test. All test centres post your Test Report Form to you .
There is no pass or fail in IELTS. Candidates are graded on their performance, using scores from 1 to 9 for each part of the test – Listening, Reading, Writing and Speaking. The results from the four parts then produce an Overall Band Score. IELTS scores have a recommended validity period of two years.
New Delhi
British Council Division,
British High Commission,
17, Kasturba Gandhi Marg,
Connaught Place
Delhi, 110001
011 42199000
New Delhi
IDP Education India Pvt. Ltd.
Flat No. 513-515, 5th Floor,
International Trade Tower,
Nehru Place,
New Delhi 110 019
Tel: +91 11 44118888
 uPCOMING Events
» Free visa counseling (No Charges )
» Study in newzealand and get 1 year work permit free
» Pay college fee after visa approval
» Study in canada under spp programe.
» Enroll for entrance exam classes after xii starting from     march 2012.
Login with Facebook